Common Core Learning StandardsWhat is Common Core?

Common Core Learning Standards are a set of national standards in Math and English Language Arts for students in kindergarten through 12th grade.

The standards focus on building skills such as writing, problem solving, research and critical thinking.

Common Core is not a curriculum; it does not direct schools what specifically to teach but instead establishes what skills students should master in a given school year.

What is the purpose of Common Core?

The intent of Common Core is to better prepare students for college and careers, particularly in an increasingly global economy. The standards are meant to help ensure students are able to collaborate and compete with their peers in the United States and abroad.

How were the standards created?

The initiative to create Common Core standards was led by the nation’s governors and education commissioners. The standards were created with input from teachers, parents, school administrators and education experts from across the country.

How many states have adopted Common Core standards?

New York is one of 46 states, and the District of Columbia, that have adopted the Common Core Learning Standards.

Video for Parents and Families About Common Core

Parent Resources


Publications (in .pdf format)